Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Competition among children has been appreciated in the recent times as people feel it can maximize their potential while some reckon that co-operation is the key to success. I feel that both views have their own pros and cons respectively. To initiate with, watching another student get better marks than you when you tried your best to study hard can be extremely demotivating for some and make them accept defeat in a very cruel way. Though, it might prove to have an improvement in some children but competition can bring a sense of jealousy between students which can impact their relations and are unhealthy for their age groups. On the other side, co-operating with others has a lot of merits with it being extremely beneficial in the future and a healthy relation between children without any sense of jealousy. Additionally, it helps in improving a student's weaknesses when they know they can rely and ask their partner or a friend frankly without any competition involved. I feel that co-operating is a much better strategy than asking children to compete aggressively and 'get better marks' than their classmates. Furthermore, competition can create a belief among the children that they cannot score more once they have tried their best and that is their peak which is absolutely wrong. Moreover, co-operating helps when children have to work together in teams and it produces a much better result than competition among the team. In conclusion, though children are asked to compete with their mates and be better than them, it is not the right strategy to deal with a child. Furthermore, a child should be allowed to develop along with their friends and not against them.