Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. What do you think is the reason for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

There are many activities that young people do in their leisure time, one of the most favored is shopping. This essay will try to describe what is the cause of this behavior. However, writer believes that socializing with friends or doing physical activity should be encourage more to the young people. To begin with, young people likes to go to the shopping mall or other store because they influenced by celebrities or other popular brand. In addition to that, many popular brands nowadays offering many discounts and choices of products that can easily attracts people ’s attention. There are so many advertisements going around in social media or in the street, that really easy to be seen by many people. Another important reason why youth like to go shopping is the pleasure to have the latest of technology or trend. This behavior makes they like go going around in their free time, just to explore what is the latest trend these days. Even though shopping may be an enjoyable activity, youth these days should be encourage more to do more useful activity that can improve their skill or health. For example, doing physical activity like doing sport or gym might develop their health. Another choice of activity is joining a community or doing volunteer that might develop their social skill as well as communication skill. In conclusion, the main reason why youth nowadays like to go shopping in their free time is because there are so many advertisements from brands until celebrities, while offering many discounts, and also their needed to access the latest of technology. However, they should encourage to do different advantageous activity like doing some sport or joining community to do a self-development, to raise their value.