Films and computer games containing violence are popular. Some people say they have negative effect on society and should be banned. Others say they are just harmless relaxation. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is sometimes thought that movies and computer games containing violence ought to be banned as they are harmful to society, but other people suggest that the negative effect is neglectable. In my opinion, I agree that entertainment with violent content is acceptable and should be retained despite the drawbacks it may bring to society. On one hand, some people believe that the outbreak of violent crime rate and the high popularity of bloody films and computer games are correlated. Nowadays, the sophisticated visual effects in computer games are close to reality, and virtual reality game, for instance, gives players an extraordinary immersive experience. Some think players, especially youngsters, will mix up the virtual world and reality after a long playtime and, in the long run, would become violent. Fans love to mimic movie stars, some people are afraid it will include violent behaviour in films. Therefore, some suggest that movies and computer games with these elements should be banned. On the other hand, some people think the freedom of creation should be persisted, and I agree. There are a lot of great movies with aggressive killing scenes that are considered great pieces of art. Some people claimed that playing computer games is the best way to release stress from busy life. Recent research shows that 90% of violent criminals are not big fans of violent movies or hardcore gamers. In other words, people who enjoy entertainment with violent content will not become violent. Moreover, in numerous countries, there are laws to protect children from violent content well. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I think that there are certain justifications for the former statement, albeit I am of the opinion that violent movies and computer games should be banned. I recommend that especially immature people should not be interested in these kinds of films and games.