Some people say that history is one of the most important subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The importance of History as an educational lesson compared to science and technology is a controversial topic. Some people that have a futuristic approach argue that history has become outdated. Conversely, others believe that we still need to learn from the past to make a better world. I completely agree with the latter for reasons that I am going to clarify in upcoming paragraphs. Nowadays, we are witnessing express progress in scientific and technological accomplishments. Moreover, this developments considerably facilitate people’s lives and also societies become hopeful about solving major problems in near future. For example, cancer kills tens of thousands of people annually, and there is not a certain treatment yet. However, scholars working on advanced investigations combined with science and technology, announce that we are going to find the final treatment. Hence, they discuss that old-fashioned topics such as history should be ignored in favour of more crucial demands. But this devaluation does not seem convincing. On the other hand, history has been always an essential part of the education system from ancient schools to modern ones. Indeed, building a democratic community strongly depends on knowing the history. For instance, Iranian women that lead an utter democratic revolution refer to historical facts to modify the upcoming constitution and prevent possible deviations. Therefore, correcting the last mistakes needs to be dominated past, which I do agree with it. To conclude, it is generally believed that history should not be thought of as important as science or technology since it is outdated. Tough, I agree with the opponents that argue more democratic societies are built by people who know their history well.