Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has long been much contention about whether countries should train their sportsperson by building specialized facilities exclusively catering to their abilities or whether the countries should build sports center that is accessible to all the population groups. In order to see whether the former notion outdoes the latter, we need to look at both sides of the debate. The most telling argument in favor of building sports facilities only for the athletes comes from the fact that excellence in any sport is achieved when the sportsman has the ability to showcase his talents to the world, ultimately affecting the economic prosperity of the nation. To be more exact, if a country caters specifically to the need of the athlete that it will have more capability to represent its nation at an international competition and also excel in the game which boosts the economic growth of the country. Besides this, building a specialized facility only for the top athlete will also ensure that there is less wastage of sports budget to build some useless facilities which might not even be used by the general public. Needless to say, all these merits of catering to top athletes will hold the government in good stead as far as the proper allocation of budget is concerned. Notwithstanding the fact that government should look after its top athlete, it is not to say that the government should not provide sports facilities for other people. The primary reason stems from the fact that all taxpayers of the country have the right to access sports facilities whether they are athletes or not. Apart from this, it is the moral responsibility of the government to invest in the health of its citizen and not thing about the specific target group only. In conclusion, I would not wish to underestimate the value of training top athlete community despite the fact that this might effect the overall healthy of other groups of population. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that goverbemnt governments should invest in training top sportsmen.