Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

In recent days, there has been a dramatic increase in the number of children who do not prefer studying science subjects at the university level in almost all parts of the globe. There are a number of reasons why this is happening. In this essay, I will depict them and will also present a deluge of effects associated with this issue. The most telling reason why science subjects are losing their popularity among university goers lies in the fact that subjects related to science, namely genetics, aeronautical engineering, biochemistry, and environmental science, are time and energy-consuming. As a result, most of the students are not able to enroll in other extracurricular activities, ultimately affecting their physical and mental health. Besides this, these subjects are continuously evolving with some new discoveries and inventions made every now and then which can change the credibility of previously acquired knowledge. One of the most telling consequences associated with the issue is that without the graduates undertaking this stream of study, we might face a dearth of doctors, engineers, environmentalists, and astronauts all of which will ultimately affect the progression of human civilization. Not only, the life-threatening disease can swipe the entire population if it's the hard work of doctors and scientists, but also the universe might be hit by some unexplained disturbances from outer space. Besides this, the technological innovations that have made our life convenient, without them the quality of life will be hampered. To sum up, varied reasons have given rise to the diminishing popularity of science subjects, thus I firmly believe that given the potential impacts of THE TOPIC, until we develop a more nuanced approach, in which success in coping with this issue is contingent on, all our efforts will go awry, if not in vain. Nevertheless, I feel that a dearth of investment in science will have a far-reaching impact not only on the individual but also on the cumulative productivity of society.