some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The saying “better late than never” appears surprisingly suited for describing those that rather break the traffic rules than prioritize their own safety, which consequently results in avoidable heat-breaking accidents. To tackle this problem, some people argue that the application of strict punishments plays the key role; meanwhile, others believe that there should be more effective solutions other than that. From my perspective, I go for the former proposal since it provides two-fold benefits to both the authority and its citizens. At first glance, strict punishments minimize the likelihood of the incident happening the second time. When witnessing the accident happening right in front of them, or in the worst case, they are the one involved then later punished strictly, their awareness of the need to seriously abide by traffic rules will deeply increase so as to always guarantee their own safety first no matter what. Besides, the strict punishments not only damage part of their well-being when it comes to the not-so-well-off, they also seriously stain one’s reputation down the road, especially if he/she belongs to the high demography. In addition, the by-products, such as the huge amount of money from fining law-breakers, could contribute to solving a wide range of domestic issues. As an old Chinese saying goes “a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step”, the method of solving a nagging problem from the right beginning should likely bear fruition, in which increasing the level of difficulty in driving exams and raising awareness about traffic safety cannot be overlooked. If there were more complicated questions related to requiring problem-solving skills when it comes to the written part and so as the practical one, there would be fewer people having driving licenses permitting them to join in the road on their own potentially life-threatening vehicles; yet those managing to pass would be truly law-abiding. Besides, people, especially young children, should be well-informed about the traffic rules as early as possible. Psychologically speaking, people are usually only convinced by things that have direct impacts on them; therefore, it is advisable to mainly focus on explaining how committing traffic offences can have negative effects directly on the sake of theirs. In recapitulation, either applying strict punishments or combining different other measures would help in one way or another to address the issue of traffic offences. From my personal perspective, I believe the former solution would produce much faster yet more fruitful results. After all, we should always give our life the top priority, regardless of any situations. Isn’t it still better to be able to start from scratch than never be able to?