More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programmes to get their news and instead read online. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, it has been ubiquitous that the public is highly keen to reading online news rather than physical news. While this trend has some clear disadvantages, I am of an opinion that getting news online has more positive effects on the whole. On the one hand, the main argument is that receiving online news is remarkably convenient. Firstly, the majority of people can access important news regardless of time and place using their portable devices such as smartphones, tablets and laptops, and the well-developed Internet allows them to be exposed to the latest news as quickly as possible. It is also seen that they can read new type of news with a variety of materials. For example, most online news provides a large deal of information with images or videos as well as text, which means that those materials would help readers to appreciate complicated information. All these modern features of online news validate that the innovation of technology leads to outstanding advantages. On the other hand, despite these,benefits the issue would bring about, there are still some drawbacks we can expect. The most remarkable negative is that online news contains too much information, which is not reliable or incorrect. To be specific, some reporters produce extremely suggestive or distorted news merely to attract a number of clicks from the public, which means that the news providers are likely to be obsessed with the temporary interests of the readers. Another point that needs to be considered is that unprofessional providers tend to give biased articles, and these articles would make readers be confused. Consequently, online news does not provide quality verified information. In conclusion, while getting online news would result in both positive and negative impacts, I firmly believe that all the outcomes of the change have been positive.