Some people believe that children should do what their parents tell them to do; others think children must learn to think for themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Parents are believed to play an essential role in their children's lives. However, there are conflicting views as to whether parents should impose strict restrictions on their children or whether children can decide what they want to do on their own now. This essay will discuss both sides of the issue and clarify my own views in the following paragraphs. Those who argue that offspring should obey their parents may put forth the following argument. Children are still in the process of establishing sound moral values and pursuing good learning outcomes. Therefore, if parents do not impose any restrictions on them and allow them to do whatever they want, they may be misled by some misbehaves, which may lead to poor academic performance and even commit crimes. In addition, parents are more experienced people, so if children can listen to their parents ' suggestions and learn from their experiences, they may avoid making mistakes, increasing their learning efficiency. However, opponents of this way of thinking have their own opinions, which they can also easily justify. If children can decide what they want to do, they will be aware that the consequences of an event or decision are their responsibility. This process can foster accountability. For example, if someone holds himself/herself accountable for his/her goal, the person will be very motivated and committed to achieving it. Moreover, if they can make decisions about what they like to do, they will feel that their parents can stand in their shoes, making them feel valued and respected, which will make them more willing to open up to their parents and build a meaningful relationship between them. As a result, their intimacy and sense of belonging to their family will be enhanced. In conclusion, based on the above analysis and evidence, on the one hand, listening to parents can help children achieve better learning outcomes and sound moral values to some extent. On the other hand, if they can think for themselves, they will become more independent and their relationship with their parents will be enhanced. Therefore, in my opinion, parents can limit their children to a reasonable level, but the most important thing is that they should consider their opinions, which will be beneficial to the development of children, both emotionally and physically.