In some areas of the US, a curfew is imposed. What is your opinion about this?

Some countries may find that applying restrictions, such as a curfew may bear some benefits. However, I entirely do not agree with this notion, unless there is a crucial necessity as will be discussed in this essay. Firstly, I believe that this idea completely contradicts individual freedom. One’s right to move freely and communicate will be violated with such an intervention. Moreover, small and maybe large businesses will be negatively influenced by this. To explain, many people usually rely on after-work hours to run some essential errands, for instance, shopping, bringing groceries, or even enjoying dinner at a restaurant after a tough day. When forcing everything to close down, and restricting people’s movement, eventually, many businesses would be affected by this shortcut on profits. Subsequently, the whole economy would suffer and an extra burden will be placed on the government to support this imbalance. Secondly, mandating a curfew could alter people’s health as well as their mental status. For example, some people find time merely late during the day to go to the gym or play sports, and preventing this may have a serious impact on the public general well-being. However, the only sensible exception to these restrictions, in my view, is to curb a real threat to people’s lives, such as in the case of highly contagious infections like what happened in the COVID pandemic. Nonetheless, the negative effect of the lockdown on people’s physical and psychological state during this period was undeniable due to the isolation and cutting off the actual social communication. In conclusion, unless there is a requisite such as a pandemic or fetal threats to security. I strongly oppose the concept of having any kind of limitations to people’s right to move and connect, because of possible deterioration in health and the economy.