In most countries, prison is the common solution for the problem of crime. However, the more effective solution is to provide people with better education so that people will not become criminals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

How to deal with criminals has been a controversial topic for years. Some believe that sending them to prison is the best way. However, others argue that the educational solution is a more effective one. This essay will explain why I think both approaches should be taken by the authorities. On the one hand, imprisonment has a deterrent effect on offenders. If they can be placed in prison, their various rights will be severely restricted. For example, they cannot meet with their families and friends; they have no entertainment at all; they cannot work, etc. As a result, they will realize that they have lost many meaningful and beautiful moments in their lives as well as their freedom due to their undesirable behaviours. They may also be aware that their misconduct has serious consequences for their families and themselves, so they may not commit crimes in the future. On the other hand, compared to sending them to prison, education can allow criminals to fundamentally change their values, learning what is right and what is wrong. In addition, they can learn some practical skills, such as how to be an electrician or carpenter, which can help them better integrate into society, so as to reduce the chance of being a thief. It will also contribute to a safer society. In conclusion, based on the above analysis and evidence, some of them do know what is right and wrong, they just believe that they can escape punishment, so imprisonment will be a more effective way. Therefore, I believe that both methods should be adopted to reduce the crime rate in society.