University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweighs the disadvantages?

In this modern era, an increasing number of university students decide to study overseas as part of their degrees. Although acquiring university degree abroad may grant a one in a lifetime opportunity that will foster their career growth; however, a significant number of students will likely face homesickness during their time in a foreign land. From my perspective, students are far better off having obtained education from another country despite the obstacles that they will inevitably encounter. One evident benefit of studying in a foreign country is about key life experiences, which could lead to career prosperities and securing a promising job in the long run, that would have been impossible to obtain if you had remained in your home country. Being in another country, people are pushed beyond their limit when it comes to complicated situation. For instance, when I was studying in the states, I had to step out of my comfort zone while facing physical and mental challenges. These ultra-challenging experiences are mainly the benefits of studying overseas because they play a vital role in your development as an individual. On the other hand, students find themselves trapped in detrimental homesickness; consequently, their concentration on studies have decreased significantly which resulted in bad grades and mental instability. Being alone in a foreign country and facing linguistic challenge, students will likely feel isolated and the urge to return home will be increased. For example, having faced language barriers and loneliness, my mental well-being was not doing very well and I opt to return home as soon as I finished my first semester. The feeling of missing home is undeniably one of the core issues that will occur when you are studying overseas, however, homesickness will not be around forever, given the appropriate timing, you will feel more at ease. To sum up, majority of university students tend to acquire their higher education degrees in foreign land, as part of their learning journey. While students will gain plenty of key life experiences that will be helpful in their career development, many will find homesickness to be one of the hardest challenges to get over. As a contradiction of sorts, it is the hardships that ultimately make the experience of studying abroad more advantageous than disadvantageous.