Employers sometimes ask people applying jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be useful and relevant. Others disagree. Discuss booth view and give your opinion.

Job interviews these days do not consist of only technical questions but also inquiries regarding the employee’s personal information. These new types of questions are mostly asked to address how well the future employee matches the company’s culture and team relationship. Though some think these types of questions are a waste of time, I believe that the right questions regarding personal information can help employers decide better. Asking personal questions can help the employers see how the employee is outside of the working setting. By giving questions outside of the normal work interview format, we can see how well they carry themselves in non-formal settings. Furthermore, we can see how this type of person fits in the work culture and team relationship that has been built in the company. It is crucial for employers to assess the dynamic a person can bring to a work team. For example, shared interests for things outside of work, can tighten the bond within a team and make it easier for the new employee to fit in. On the other hand, some employees might dislike these types of questions and consider them a breach to their privacy and are useless to know in regards to a job position. Asking these personal questions risks making future employees uncomfortable and the company might be labeled as nosy. Aside from that, these types of questions may lead to bias in selection. Knowing someone’s background might cause employers to prefer them because of the shared trait and not because of how well they fit the job. To conclude, there are a few drawbacks regarding the inclusion of personal information in job interviews. If done well and moderately, these questions can lead to a better decision in hiring employees.