Fewer and fewer young people choose to become a teacher. Why do young people do not want to become teachers? How could this be changed?

Very few youngsters opt to become educators nowadays. Many reasons contribute to this global trend. In the following paragraphs, we will be exploring why people are hesitant to pursue teaching as a career option and some suggestions on how to change this. It is evident that there is a variety of career options to choose from these days compared to the old days. Graduates are fascinated by these blue-collar or white-collar jobs which offer attractive pay packages as well as opportunities to travel onsite and other benefits. On the contrary most lecturers globally are underpaid and overloaded with work. Another cause for this trend is because of the difficult behaviour exhibited especially by high school students. Such indecent and arrogant attitude often demotivates the teaching staff as they are forced to deal with such behaviour on a daily basis. This in turn affects the mental health of teachers and many of them choose to resign from this profession. However, there are several approaches we can take to reverse this ongoing trend. Government should take the initiative to ensure the faculty are well paid based on their experience. Moreover, they should also be provided with other benefits like rent allowances, and life and medical insurance. Furthermore, there should also be a restriction maintained on the number of students handled by each teacher. This in turn helps to reduce the workload on individual staff and also increases the demand for the teaching profession. To conclude, educators play an important role in shaping the future generation. As a society, we should encourage young people to follow their passion and take steps to glamorize the teaching profession. Government should mandate institutions to provide a suitable work environment ensuring the physical and mental health of teachers and provide additional benefits which attract young students to pursue a career in the education field.