Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have conflicting views on whether animal experiments should be allowed. It is true that they bring some benefits, but I would argue that they should be prohibited. On the one hand, by doing medical tests on animals, people can figure out the potential side effects of medicines at a low cost and help to save innocent lives which may suffer from serious injuries or death because of taking such drugs. Also, in scientific explorations to unknown places, animals can be used to detect if the environment is safe for humans and protect explorers from potential harm. For instance, when the first aircraft which can carry human beings were made, on trial flights, dogs and monkeys are put in the drivers' cabinet to see if this vehicle is safe for humans to stay in. Therefore, it is true that doing experiments on animals helps to advance medical and scientific research. However, I would argue that tests on animals should not be allowed. The most important thing is that as living creatures, animals and human beings have equal rights to life, therefore, people have no right to deprive animals of their lives. Hence, this behaviour is morally wrong. Moreover, in most research fields, human beings can devise ways to alternate animals, so it is unnecessary to exploit animals on human beings ' behalf. To give an illustration, in car accident simulation experiments, an artificial human body with sensors attached to different parts of the body can efficiently emulate the harms that passengers got in a collision, therefore it is not a must to use animals to implement this function. In conclusion, animal tests can benefit people in some ways, but it is necessary for them to be banned.