Q. The government should ban smoking in all public places, even though this would restrict some other people's freedoms. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

There is no doubt that smoking is harmful to health and banning public smoking has become a prominent issue. While some people believe that smoking should be prohibited in public areas, others believe that it should not because it harms people's self-independence. I firmly agree with the situation of banning public smoking because it is essential for the well-being of people. States are very much concerned about public health and several health issues are associated with smoking such as asthma and even cancer. Moreover, smoking not harms the person who directly inhales the nicotine and other harmful ingredients but the others who come in contact with the smoker while smoking. As in public places, there are several means of people like children, elderly adults, patients or pregnant mothers. Therefore, smoking should be prohibited in public places for them. Moreover, smokers disturbed the non-smokers because of the smoke and irritating smell of the cigarettes. A recent study demonstrates that, if public smoking cannot be controlled it could create an impact on public health and even encourages non-smokers to start smoking which is very alarming. On the contrary, some people believe that, the prohibition of public smoking rejects people's independence which should not be tolerated. But public freedom is a mere excuse if it is all about public health. Furthermore, there are so many steps the State can take to ensure public freedom rather than permitting public smoking, for example, giving them freedom of speech. However, if the government wants to make people healthy and sound, the prohibition of public smoking is a must. To conclude, I am firmly on the point of banning smoking in the public. It would help to build a healthy environment for all ages and all kinds of people.