Nowadays genetically modified food is widespread all over the world. While proponents of GM crops ensure that these foods are safe for human consumption and help to increase food supplies, others argue that their effects on health have not been studied long enough. Describe pros and cons of genetically modified foods.

Genetically modified food has become very popular and is now consumed by everyone around the globe. Although some experts argue that it is scientifically safe to consume and nutritious, others argue that it may have some adverse effects on people’s well-being. This essay will discuss the merits and drawbacks of genetically modified foods. Nowadays, people generally consume genetically modified foods on a daily basis. Genetically modified foods are accessible and cheap, as they can be easily found anywhere, even in local supermarkets. Unlike sophisticated organic products, genetically modified crops are sold at a lower price, as it is produced on a larger scale. In addition to that, genetically modified foods are actually adjusted to human’s liking and necessity. For instance, small sized carrots, a result of genetic modification, are easier to cook due to its small size, yet also contain a slightly higher level of vitamin c. Moreover, genetically modified crops are easier to take care of, so it reduces the possibility of harvest failure and shortage of food. On the other side, a large amount of pesticide was used during the process in order to get rid of pests. However, when the crops are not thoroughly cleaned by consumers, it may cause poisoning or other health problems. Besides that, genetically modified foods were discovered not so long ago, so there is inadequate information to declare that they are safe to consume for a long period. A further research need to be conducted in order to assure the safety of those genetically modified foods. To sum up, genetically modified foods are scientifically safe to consume as long as there is no overconsumption, as they contain more or less the same amount of nutrients as normal foods. However, a further research is necessary in order to learn about the scientific and long term effect of consuming modified crops.