High school students are usually not good at managing money. What are the reasons? What are the solutions?

These days, high school students are rarely good at managing money. This essay will analyze several causes of the problem and suggest some possible solutions that can be carried out to improve the situation. First of all, one possible reason for this phenomenon is that students may not have opportunities to learn budgeting skills at school. In more detail, most high schools seldom have financial management subjects. For instance, a number of students are taught several subjects popular at schools such as Math, Literature, and some other subjects except having taught how to manage their money. It is clear that education should additional budgeting skills for students in the future. Another contributing factor is that schoolchildren can be easily persuaded by advertisements. Specifically, high school students may be able to have a problem buying the items that they need or want. For example, according to the survey of the Finance society project, 77% of students admit that they are interested in the type of clothes that they once in a blue moon use regularly. On the other hand, one measure to alleviate the problem is that schools should include personal finance as a compulsory subject, which allows students to learn about money management skills. To be more specific, students may have more opportunities to learn earlier the knowledge that they may be able to be taught in university. Consequently, students are less likely to have insufficient knowledge about budgeting money. Another method that could be implemented by parents is to let children practice budgeting with them from a young age. For example, parents may proactively create saving accounts for their children to send lucky money or winning money. Clearly, children have a chance to learning saving money when they were young.