Disruptive school students have a negative influence on others. Students who are noisy and disobedient should be grouped together and taught separately. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is probably true to say that most schools have students who are noisier than others and take some time to settle down in class. Some people argue that if they go on to affect the way other children in the class behave, something should be done about it. However, I am not sure that teaching them separately is the answer. Most people prefer to learn in calm surroundings. Clearly, it is much better to be able to hear the teacher than to have to struggle to follow instructions because someone else is talking all the time. In my view, school is a place where children should work hard and behave well. That is not to say that they shouldn’t enjoy themselves too, but overall, their attitude to school should be a serious one. Students who ignore school codes of conduct are, to a certain extent, being quite selfish. Also, I’m not convinced that ignoring their bad behaviour is helpful to them. Studies have shown that naughty children respond better to a strict approach in school. I tend to think that it is school’s responsibility to control disruptive children. I do not mean by this that they should administer physical punishment, but I do think teachers should be trained to deal with difficult pupils. In addition, head teachers should establish rules and ensure that everyone follows them. While I accept that there may be children who are so badly behaved that they cannot be taught in a ‘normal’ school, I feel that most children can and should be taught together.