Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The problem of whether or not students should be given a home task by their teachers has sparked a heated debate recently. While the majority of society, particularly parents consider homework as the best way to improve comprehension and nourish interest, and thirst for knowledge, I contend that mandatory homework would bring harm to learners’ critical thinking and self-sufficiency because of setting up boundaries for them. It is certain that the practice of compulsory homework has been being used for the past 4 centuries since the times when students were taught with an authoritarian method of tuition. Parents across the globe have always assisted with assignments given to accomplish at home. On the one hand, this technique of education has its evident beneficial aspects, such as the progression of time-management skills and responsibility. Disciples, who implement their practice on time, have more spare hours, which are later spent on other advantageous deeds. Fulfilling their duties, learners also instil in themselves the quality of responsibility. Moreover, another cogent reason is obviously reinforcing the knowledge that was introduced in the lesson. For instance, data that was confirmed by the research of scholars at Colombia University that students who perform their home tasks are 27 per cent more responsible than those who do not. Regardless of the positive impact of obligatory schoolwork, it can be said that it has several negative consequences, namely, the dearth of self-dependence and the underdevelopment of critical thinking. The school curriculum is believed to have been changing exponentially for the past 5 decades. Subsequently, teaching methods have come a long way from an authority, when teachers provide their learners with all the data, to a delegator, when students accomplish self-studying and improve their ability to think and estimate critically. The delegator technique doesn’t contain compulsory homework, which gives students an opportunity to study by themselves. To give evidence, there has been an investigation performed by scientists at Harvard University that demonstrated that delegators educate their students much more efficiently than authorities do. Furthermore, today students are being overloaded with homework and because of it lose inspiration and alacrity to study. To conclude, the topic of the home task at schools and whether it’s productive to make them mandatory or not has become world-widely discussed. There is a common view that suggests compulsory homework is helpful for students and insists on it being indispensable, although it is proven that owing to it adolescents are being overburdened and also end up with the absence of critical thinking. To my mind, the arguments mentioned above represent the fact that it would be more efficient if home assignments weren’t obligatory.