Some people believe that scientists have the greatest influence in the world. Other people, however, think that the influence of politicians is greater. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There are numerous experts that have contributed significantly to our society, each from different fields of study, and because of their efforts, their voices hold a lot of weight. Two such experts are politicians and scientists. While some may believe politicians have greater influence, others share a different perspective. People who are in support of the view that politicians are more influential may believe so, because some politicians are lawmakers, or have proximity to lawmakers. Legislators are given the authroity to enact laws that govern the way in which we operate. A prime example of their power is when corrupt politicians are able to evade prosecution by finding loopholes in the system which they have built or by having decisions made in their favour to protect them and their legacy. On the other hand, is the position that scientists are more valuable because they have made more notable impacts in their field, which have contributed to our advancement as a whole. Those who share the opinion that scientists are more influential believe so, due to the fact that their works have led to revolutionary inventions and developments of past theories. For example, Marie Curie's discovery of radiation led to the creation of X-rays, MRIs and CT Scans, just to name a few. To conclude, it is easy to acknowledge their contributions, and because of their involvement, they are both truly valuable. Both groups have made considerable changes and improvements to our society. Although scientists continue to make ground-breaking discoveries and innovations, politicians will remain in power and authoritative. So, in my opinion, politicians hold a lot of weight.