Today’s schools should teach their students how to survive financially in the world today. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The question of whether or not educational institutions should make teenagers learn how to handle “money problems” has been the subject of recent public discussions. While some people argue that these topics should not concern the education system at all, I believe that being able to learn how to be financially responsible while still being young (while studying in class) is one of the crucial task that tertiary education should ensure. As long as what is taught is legal and potentially effective there is no reason why teachers should not provide their students financial competences. Learning how to pay taxes, understanding how to handle and manage personal incomes, learning how to invest, knowing what to expect when inflation is rising or how to read economy related rates on newspapers, are just examples of daily skills that are essential in order to survive in today’s world. In most cases, lots of individuals find themselves graduating from high school or getting a college degree without knowing anything about the things mentioned and while being left alone by their parents in facing adults’ problems. It goes without saying that developing financial abilities can be of really great help to them. On the other hand, it is also true that these type of topics need to be taught professionally in schools meaning that they would have to become a specific subject of educational programs taught by teachers who have appropriate background studies. As a matter of fact being able to properly teach these is an important longterm investment by schools and students that would require them time and hard work but that would benefit both at the end of the day. To conclude, learning how to financially survive and developing these sort of abilities is essential in order to get through different stages of life without depending much on others and represents something that everyone will need to learn at a certain point. Hence, I firmly believe that letting schools teaching teenagers would be extremely useful rather harmful.