Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It is becoming more and more common to be self-employed instead of working at a company or organization. In this essay, I will argue that while self-employment allows for much more freedom, it comes with greater responsibilities than being an employee. By working on your behalve, it is possible to plan time accordingly to your own needs. Due to the fact that you are your own boss, you can schedule most of your work as you like. Thus giving you the freedom to ease or push when you need to. For example, if you are going throught a difficult situation, it is possible to ease off without the stress of losing a job. Once you are back on your feet, it is possible to return to your usual workload. Employers offer support so one can focus solely on her job. An employer usually consist of many departaments that take care of various legal and tax issues. Hence, as an employee of some company it is possible to delegate certain paperwork to colleagues. By being self-employed, it is your responsibility to properly fill out tax reports and all necessary files. This can result in less overall time that you can devote to your actual job. Moreover, you bear all the risks associated with an incorrect submission of tax documents. In conclusion, self-employment posses the benefit of managing your own work, however, you have to take care of all responsibilities that come with being self-employed, which would otherwise be provided by employer.