Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many people prefer to pursue academic studies at university rather than to follow vocational training courses. Despite the need of university graduates, I completely agree that vocational training studies should be encouraged due to the shortage of qualified manual workers. There are several reasons why more workers should be trained in skilled professions like pumping, electrical work. The first reason is, workers play an important role in constructing new buildings, renovating or simply maintaining the facilities. As a result, our standard of living is ensured and the safety of citizens is protected. The second reason is the imbalance of the economy, which has resulted in a huge amount of unemployed graduates while the shortage of skillful manual laborers is experiencing an upward trend. Taking Vietnam as an example, only 26% of workers have degrees of professional training or high-qualified skills, while low-skilled laborers can't meet business needs. Therefore, students should be encouraged to take vocational training courses. The first thing is, schools should integrate practical subjects into the school curriculum instead of replacing all theory classes. For instance, schools can offer students some workshops that help them to learn hands-on skills and gain greater insights into their future jobs. Another thing is that parents not only have responsibility for explaining the future prospects of manual jobs but also well-paying to workers as a way of teaching their childrens. In the final analysis, although it is believed by some people that students should apply to university for academic studies, I personally agree vocational training courses would be better for them due to the need of manual workers with professional skills.