Some people say that teenagers should work part-time and earn money. This way they will learn basic lessons about work and become more disciplined. Others argue that teenagers shouldn't sacrifice their rest and after-school activities to work

Nowadays teenagers are asked to work part- time by parents to earn money. While some people argue that this way they will understand and appreciate basic lessons about work, other believe that parents should let them free to spend time for rest, sport and after-school activities. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favor of latter. On the one hand, as a father I think teenagers should work part- time to be introduced in a sort of anteroom of what is going to happen in the future. They are basically asked to understand the minimum requirements of the working world. Moreover, they can have the opportunity to become more disciplined, to earn money devoted to their own expenses and, somehow, to contribute to the family budget. On the other hand, the adolescence is, without a doubt, an awesome period of teens life, especially for those of them who spend time for after-school activities, sport, music and need rest that cannot be sacrificed. What’s more, I clearly remember when I was a teenager. At that time I had the awareness that I was requested to have my own responsibilities, as doing homework or following strictly rules set up by my parents. However, I was available to completely appreciate spare time and deeply live my life with counterparts. In my opinion, teenagers shouldn’t sacrifice their rest and adolescence period working part- time, since discipline and the money worth depends mainly on the values instilled in them by their parents. In conclusion, as far as I’m concerned, with reference to the teenagers, working part- time can be a good chance to sway over their personality. However, I fully and firmly believe adolescence is crucial in the growing up trajectory of life and teenagers should spend time to strongly appreciate their ilfe.