With an increasing overweight population some people think that universities should make sport a compulsory module on all degree courses. To what extent do you agree?

With the rapid improvement of human’s quality of life in this contemporary society, there are tremendous entertainment factors which could cater to people’s needs. Obviously, some people are extremely indulging in amusements and it may bring some negative impacts on their bodies, such as obesity and diabetes. These days, an issue that has fuelled a heated debate is whether universities have to require whole students to do exercises on campus as the sustained growth of overweight population. While it is maintained by some that it is unnecessary to have sports, others hold the opposite opinion. In my perspective, i inclined towards the former idea to a larger extent. First and foremost, i would lend my support to the view point that universities must make physical education an obligatory module on all degree courses, chiefly based on the consideration that there are a lot of recreational facilities, massage chair, that may precipitate students to over-relax. This may bring some detrimental health problems, like obesity, as they encounter reduced level of standard exercise, which contributes to the accumulation of excessive fats in their body. Thus, physical education is extremely important in ensuring and maintaining students overall well beings. Additionally, another point should not be overlooked is that there are versatile food choices nowadays, people are able to select what they are most likely to consume for their meal. Paradoxically, the majority of students are willing to sacrifice their time and energy on their studies instead of choosing a healthy meal. Therefore, they may tend to consume fast food, such as McDonald’s and Subway, as a means to utilise their time more effectively on their academic pursuit. For instances, according to a report made by BBC in 2017, there are 61.2% of teenagers possessed adipose due to their long-term consumption of fast food. Consequently, university need to make physical activities a mandatory part of the curriculum. However, i understand why it could be sometimes claimed by some that it is unnecessary for students to have physical activity in campus. The reason may involve the recognition that universities’ students are facing more challenges in their cut-throat academic competitiveness. This is because the limited amount of job opportunities on the uneven playing field are provided to them, so that they need to make more effort in their academic performance instead of participating sports. For example, a news was reported by CNA in 2020, time consuming on education of students in university is increased 5.3% since from 2012 to 2019. Overall, it demonstrates that sports could be futile and pointless in some extent. In a nutshell, although the claim that physical education is unnecessary in some extent, my firm conviction is that it is paramount for students to make physical education an obligatory module on all degree courses. I would strongly advocate that students need to plan their time effectively.