In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the 20th century, mass production of goods became the main method of manufacture all over the world, which led advertisements to become an inseparable part of most businesses. One of the advertising methods used regularly is emphasizing the innovativeness of the products. Highlighting this quality can be due to several reasons. With the consumerism culture taking over societies around the globe, people have the tendency to buy goods they don’t need more than ever. Seeing commercials that count the new capabilities of a product, can tempt them to order that product. To illustrate that, take Apple Watch. In the past 10 years, Apple has released a new model annually. Although the appearance of the watch has remained almost the same throughout this decade, there have been upgrades in some features of the watch, and some new applications have been introduced. What is interesting is that when compared to subsequent models, the new featured upgrades are so minimal that purchasing the new model seems illogical, but still people continue to buy the new models of this gadget, only to keep up with the upgrades of it. Another reason for this trend is that, with online shopping becoming more and more common, everywhere customers possess the luxury of comparing a product from different manufacturers and usually they come to the conclusion to buy the device which has the most cutting-edge technology, and the state-of-the-art design. Since this is the case, brands highlight the newest aspects of their goods in order to encourage buyers to choose them. The Chinese company Xiaomi which has become a giant in personal and industrial electronics is a textbook example of this. To sum up, companies place stress on their creativity, as a way to reach the consumer culture embodied in societies and to be able to compete in the harsh market of today. I believe this matter to be positive when it pushes companies to come up with better designs and regard it to be a negative trend when it encourages people to buy unnecessary products.