Write about the following topic. Recently, abortion increases rapidly and becomes a controversial topic. Some people suppose that abortion should be legal while others are against it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

In recent times, a sudden spike in the abortion rate had made it a debatable issue. A small percentage of the population has an opinion that it should be made legal while, there are the remaining ones who do not feel the same. In my opinion, it should not be made legal however, awareness should be spread so that it can be avoided. On the one hand, some folks have an opinion that abortion should be made legal as there are a lot of cases where the kids are unplanned babies. For example, the parents are not in a good financial condition to give a good future to the newborn. They are not ready mentally and physically to look after the little one. Lack of knowledge and unawareness are two of the many reasons that have caused a hike in the rate of abortion. On the other hand, it is believed by the other few that it should not be made legal. There are a lot of countries in the world where it is illegal to abort a child. It is against moral values to kill someone. Some initiatives can be taken by the government to avoid such situations from arising. For instance, in India there is a policy according to which certain benefits would be awarded to families that have just two kids. In addition, spreading awareness and educating people would play a very vital role in reducing the numbers. Also, some initiatives should be taken for rape victims who end up conceiving babies. To conclude, as the saying goes, prevention is better than cure, we must take as many precautions as possible. Education and awareness are the two things that can contribute significantly to getting the numbers down.