In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Many businesses these days focus on emphasising their products as unique when they are advertising.There are many reasons behind this. Although for the business providers, it may seem beneficial, there are significant disadvantages that the customers are entitled to bear because of the deceitful advertising tactics. In this essay, I will discuss why the negative outcomes occur and the reasons behind “unique product” marketing. On one hand, rare and unique products easily grab the attention of a target population. For example, if a pediatric cereal is advertised as the only food item providing a number of vitamins and minerals, many parents would be eager to buy it as they want the best for their child. So, this causes a lot of parents to buy it which results in a massive influx of income and new customers to the company resulting in business expansion. On the other hand, some will deceive customers by falsifying the ingredients just because they want their products to be one of a kind. This is exemplified by many advertisements about whitening creams stating that much quicker results are obtained only by the use of their creams with “magic” ingredients. Many youngsters who are vulnerable about their skin, easily fall into these traps and spend thousands of dollars on these unknown, no-brand products which sometimes result in bad outcomes like severe bleaching of the skin. So, in conclusion, advertising uniqueness in a product will attract buyers efficiently thus, opening many opportunities for the seller to sell their items. However, the lack of knowledge and research about certain unique ingredients will let people unwanted trouble.