Research recently shows an increasing number of business meetings and trainings taking place online. Do advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Recent research said that technology development has advanced the number of business meetings and training through online media. The main benefits of this trend are that employees can work everywhere, and their presence in the office was no longer needed. The main drawback of this trend is some restaurants within the office could be lost their revenue stream since their main customers don't go to the office. To begin with, the Covid-19 pandemic has made commuting and meeting people become very limited to reduce the spreading of the virus. For instance, during the pandemic era, Indonesia's government through the Social Meeting Limitation (PPKM) policy regulated very strict permission to all people except for medical officers to travel whether for domestic or abroad purposes. Hence, many companies cannot conduct face-to-face coordination or business trip regarding the contact limitation from government regulations. The situation becomes an opportunity for some technology companies namely Microsoft, Zoom, or Google to launch virtual meeting applications. The virtual meeting platform can bridge the limitation and as a result, many entrepreneurs were helped by this innovation. Moreover, it became new behaviour that some people were able to work everywhere, and their presence in the office was no longer needed. In contrast, despite all the advantages of virtual meeting technology, this innovation may also carry an indirect impact on others. When companies decided to ask their employee to work from their home, this means some restaurants within the office could be lost their customers. As a consequence, their income decreased and some of them may bankrupt. In conclusion, the advantage of online media outweighed the disadvantage because many people were helped due to the meetings can be arranged anytime and can cost less than a face-to-face meeting.