Some people believe that purchasing imported agricultural products has a positive effect. Others thinks consuming domestic products is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is a common belief that importing agricultural products from abroad is excellent for us to make. However, there is an opinion more convincing, that society will have more benefits if consumers buy domestic agriculture because of the pricing protection policy. Purchasing overseas food items such as American beef or corn, etc. allows citizens to get more choices that can not be grown or produced in the country. In other words, consuming imported goods encourages individuals to try a larger variety of cuisines, therefore, widening their nutriment source. For instance, kiwifruit is a challenge to plant in Vietnam which limits the domestic supply quantities. Fortunately, thanks to importing, various fruits are available and common nowadays that make people satisfy their needs and enjoy more unique ones. Nevertheless, it is essential for the Government and local authorities to protect this field due to the high competition from other multinational companies. Specifically, they always have a mass-production, technological miracle which reduces the costs. The farmers will lose the market share if they just compete with the price without marketing and the right business strategies. To illustrate this, France has had more expensive meat and dairy products than some competitors due to the high cost of labor and equipment. Once Spain launched the same ones, the French farmers could not sell which made them break the business. To sum up, buying local or international items depends on the interest, need, and budget. Consumers should be more intelligent to choose the best ones which are suitable for each individual.