Today people live longer after retiring from work. What problems does this cause for individuals and society? What can be done?

It's undeniable that the lifespan of pensioners, has drastically increased, However this increase has led to overdependence on the younger generation resulting resulting in immense financial and emotional burden. Having a retirement plan could greatly help reduce these pressures. Firstly, traditionally it has been the responsibility of the youth to take care of the old and more so this is seen whe they retire. However, this dependence on the younger generation has led majority of them to feel burdened financially and emotionally. This is because most retirees especially those who worked in low income jobs never prepared or kept any savings for later use during retirement. And, thus causing the responsibility of taking care of them to fall squarely on the shoulders of the young. Enrolling in a pensioner scheme before retirement could greatly reduce this burden because the retiree could be making small contributions towards the scheme therefore providing financial cushion upon retirement. Currently, in Kenya there is a National social security fund whose objectives is to provide financial security to those in retirement. To conclude, as life expectancy continue to be on the rise, it is essential to reduce the burdens placed upon the younger generation through proper planning of pensioners by enrolling into pensioners schemes for financial security.