In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Since teenagers, it has been said in society that if there is something they want to reach, they have to work harder. Inevitably, this advice could bring many advantages and disadvantages for their life as a youngster, including their view of life. This essay will consider psychological developments on the one hand and social relationship disruption on the other. One evident benefit of trying harder to get achievements is that it would enable persistence in their mind which could lead to their success. In particular, it increases teenagers' emotional intelligence since they will be patient in their daily routines. For example, students who get a higher rank are not always the smartest instead the most diligent students. This outcome proves the hard work of their equanimity to get something they want, it eventually becomes a habit until the adolescents grow up and plunge into work life. Nevertheless, some teenagers have not realised their ambition could be a boomerang for their actions in daily activities. In other words, perfectionism and competitiveness are unconsciously built on the behaviour yet adolescents could use their energy more for exploring new things and beginning to socialise, in fact, it is also the main factor of children's growth. For instance, in Japan, students spend their time studying almost 12 hours a day because of lots of homework and the pressure from school, thus, they become individualist and indifferent to others. In conclusion, ambitiousness can bring many advantages to youngsters for improving their quality of life and bringing success in the future. However, they should remember that being too ambitious has adverse effects in case it hinders social relations at young ages. Therefore, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages