Today, we have access to the news 24 hours a day through television, computers and mobile phones. How important is it to keep up-to-date with the news? Is this a positive or negative development? - You should write at least 250 words - You should spend around 40 minutes of this task.

Thanks to telecommunications technology, it is now possible to check the news at any time. I believe it is vital to stay on top of news and current affairs, but that 24-hour news is not actually beneficial to audiences. In my view, it is crucial to keep up-to-date with the news since global events have a significant impact on every area of life. For instance, knowing that natural disasters like typhoons and tsunamis can help us to avoid the affected areas on vacation. Similarly, those who are up-to-date with the news can make strategic choices when investing money or buying stocks because currencies and financial markets are often affected by world events. In addition, many important issues, such as same-sex marriage, global warming, and geopolitical conflicts are controversial. By staying up-to-date with the news, we can consider various viewpoints and form our own opinions on such matters. However, despite these arguments, the 24-hour news cycle causes severe problems which should be considered. For example, television news channels seek to attract and retain audiences by constantly announcing "breaking news " and exaggerating stories, leading to sensationalism and bias. Furthermore, online news sites, in an effort to be the first to publish a story, often upload incomplete or inaccurate text which can be misleading to the reader. Last but not least, readers have shorter attention spans as a result of constantly checking and rechecking the news. This may cause the reader to spend less time thinking critically about news stories and could lead to general acceptance of "fake news " stories, particularly on social media sites such as Facebook. In conclusion, despite the fact that keeping up-to-date with news is vital in the modern world, I do not see 24-hour news cycles as beneficial. After all, the news should be consumed in an in-depth way and on a daily basis, rather than in short bursts every hour.