People who read for pleasure in their free time have a better imagination than those who prefer to watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, majority of people believe that reading is the best form of de-stressing and indulging in such a pleasurable activity in your free time increases your creative side of brain compared to those watching television in pass time. I completely agree, that reading leads to better imagination than watching TV. To start, reading books is one of the best hobby a person could indulge and inculcate for life. Not only it enhances your vocabulary and language learning techniques but also develops your imaginary skills. Recent studies conducted by The Times of India, reported that reading books from a young age benefits children to have a more creative and innovative mindset. Although books do not provide a visual effect to its readers it increases the ability to think various situations in different perspectives. For instance, while reading a fictional book like a murder mystery novel one starts imagining characters, protagonist of the story as well as the scenes in front of their eyes as if it is happening in real time. The other primary reason is that reading reducing stress and gives chance to learn and explore new subjects which can become a great conversation starter in public. It is believed that a person who is a book-freak is more intellectual and focused in his life. For example, in earlier times when media and television were not invented people wrote beautiful poems and manuscripts only with their imagination about the future. I personally think that in today’s world, watching television in spare time can also improve one’s creativity and imaginary thinking, provided that the shows are educational and not only entertainment based or violent in nature. To conclude, I would argue that both reading and watching media can lead to great imagination taken into account how one perceive shows broadcasted on TV.