Environmental problems are caused by technological development. Some people say that the solution to these problems is for everyone to lead a simpler way of life while others say that technology can solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Advancement in technology has caused many detrimental effects on the environment. While some people argue that leading a simple life is the solution to this, others believe that environmental problems can be solved using these technologies. This essay will discuss both views and concludes with my opinion. Arguably, advancing technologies have caused many harmful effects on the environment. This is mainly because devices and machines that are used in this modern era have a strong link to carbon emissions which is a main source of environmental pollution. In other words, they require energy in terms of production and function. The energy required is generated either from fossil fuel or renewable energy sources. However, the main source of energy in today's world is fossil fuels which emit carbon monoxide and carbon dioxide into the atmosphere causing the greenhouse effect and global warming. Moreover, the majority of these devices contain non-decaying plastic materials in their production. For example, in Indonesia, it is observed one of the main sources of plastic waste is derived from computers. On the other hand, it is argued that technology can solve environmental problems. To explain further, technological development has minimized the use of petroleum products in many ways. Companies all over the world are replacing petroleum to clean energy sources through new technologies. This will eventually reduce carbon emissions into the atmosphere. Moreover, new methods are being explored to recycle plastic products which can reduce the environmental pollution caused by plastics. For Instance, although Singapore is one of the highest contributors to plastic waste, they have invented an effective way to recycle plastic waste and contribute zero plastic to the planet. In my opinion, although development in technology and modernization have harmful impacts on the planet, they can be minimized significantly by using these modern technologies in an effective manner by promoting the usage of clean energy sources and recycling plastic waste. In conclusion,though it can not be denied that the majority of today's global environmental issues are caused by technological innovations, I strongly believe technologies can be used wisely to counteract pollution-related problems in order to salvage the environment.