zoos should close as they are prejudicial to animals. what is your opinion?

It is important to consider the major roles that zoos hold in society by saving endangered animals and keeping biodiversity. While some people argue that they have baneful impacts on animals ´ lives, and hence, should no longer be open, others advocate their benefits regarding the protection of uncommon species. I firmly believe that zoos are useful to protect animals and this essay will highlight two reasons beyond that. In the first instance, it is undeniable that zoos play a vital role in society by rescuing animals in danger or injured, which are then treated and lastly released to their original habitat. A prime illustration of this is when sea animals such as whales or turtles reach the sea coast, zoos are the main responsible to look after them, treating all the injuries and health conditions, and after being cured, they are released into the ocean. If zoos were not available, many animals would die after approaching beaches. Zoos excel in their job by controlling the animals ' reproduction, indeed. It has been shown that for certain species only a few animals are left in the world, so when they are taken into zoos, they promote an efficient multiplication of the species in order to prevent extinction. For instance, although there are some varieties of African lions facing the risk of disappearing, this is being mitigated by the controlled environment for further reproduction offered by zoos. This would not happen if zoos close down and, consequently, many species would disappear. In summary, whereas some people do not see that zoos are advantageous, I am a vehement supporter of their existence due to their precious job of aiding animals in need and sending them back to their natural habitat, as well as offering favourable conditions to breeding which helps to avoid further extinction.