a huge number of prisioners commit a secong crime after being released for the first time. Why do you think this happens and what are the solutions to reduce this?

A large number of criminals as soon as they have been released from prison after their first serving, tend to continue committing crimes. This essay will highlight two reasons why this might happen and two possible methods to combat this situation. Considering the first reason for reoffending, many prisoners while in the prison not always have the opportunity to learn or to retrain new skills which could be useful to conduct a life outside the criminal world when they come out of prison. This situation can, however, be mitigated if during the time they are paying for the crime, the institutional system enables them with new knowledge about how to be a better citizen or how to step outside criminality when leaving the institution, for instance. Furthermore, it is important to consider that many times when inmates finish their punishment, they have difficulty finding a job or a house to live in in order to meet their basic daily needs. Owing to people´s preconceptions about someone who has been in prison or the lack of necessary skills to work, it is far more difficult for them to start a new life than for someone who has never been convicted. To illustrate how this issue could be addressed, I believe that social workers should work closely with ex-prisoners in order to be aware of their difficulties and needs, as well as guarantee that they have access to a workplace. In summary, although it has been shown that convicts after coming out from their first sanction still re-offend due to the lack of retraining new skills and job opportunities in the outside world, I strongly believe that implementing the aforementioned approach such as rehabilitation and introducing them in the work reality, it would help to mitigate this problem.