Write about the following topic: In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

In many parts of the globe, the percentage of youth reading newspapers or following news on TV is extremely less. Knowing about what is happening in the world is very essential as it also helps in understanding its implications on a common man. I believe one of the primary reasons for this is the increasing inclination of the young people towards computer games. These games have gained a lot of popularity in recent times and are also quite addictive. Furthermore, they just think about the game and are not bothered about other things happening around them. For example, my colleague was soo involved in playing a game that he had nothing else to discuss with us and often felt left out when we all spoke about world politics. Another reason in my opinion is that they find the news extremely boring. This could be because they have never been in the surrounding where current affairs are being discussed as a result of which they never developed interest in the news. One of the solutions that I can think of is having a family discussion about events that are taking place all over the world. Listening about the event might develop interest in them and eventually they would start following the news regularly. For instance, my mom had made it a rule for me and my sister to discuss about current affairs during dinner. The second solution could be using easy words and explaining in the most basic language. The traditional ways use technical terms that people might not be aware of and hence might lose interest. To conclude, we should figure out the reasons and work on the solutions to develop the interest of the youth in news. It is an uphill task but using innovative solutions could be the key.