In some countries, parents expect their children to spend long time studying both in and after school and have less free time. What are the positive and negative effects on children and the society they live in?

It is true that the young generations are obliged to engage in not only formal classes but also extra ones. From my perspective, this practice is detrimental to a certain extent, due to its impact on their communication ability, and their physical and mental well-being. The following paragraphs would shed light on my viewpoint. On the one hand, advocates of said option have their rational grounds.The most pertinent reason is that the students that spend most of their time studying and have good results will be able to get more job opportunities in the future. Specifically, straight-A pupils will graduate with excellent degrees, which offers a competitive advantage to human resources in the future.In fact, competition is fierce among the labour force so a degree is obligatory for the job-seekers. In addition, learning will create useful and versatile individuals for society. It can be said that the spiral studying time will help undergraduates to learn more sessions, therefore, they will have chances to utilize these insights to a significant number of disciplines. A perfect example is that currently, there are many students who can do better than one major when they finish their learning programs. On the other hand, the above arguments are insufficient to overshadow the shortcoming of the topic in question. First, over-studying leads to negative impacts on the well-being of pupils, for both mentally as well as physically. Practical examples show that learners who study in a dim light environment or are exposed to computer screens for long periods would easily suffer from myopia and other vision impairments. Furthermore, consecutive courses will put pressure on pupils,which would result in depression in the long run. Second, learners will lack the opportunities to expand their social circle. Their time was completely devoted to studying, which should have been allocated to communicating with friends. It can be worse when they become lonely and reclusive adults because of lacking many interpersonal skills, such as public speaking or teamwork. In conclusion, it is indisputable that studying will give learners more chances to get a dream job in the future. Nonetheless, over-studying will cause them to lose their learning from the outside and lack social relationships.