Some people claim that there are more disadvantages of the car than its advantages. Do you agree or disagree? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a car.

Cars, today have become an integral part of conveyance.There is a section of people who claim that the disadvantages of a car far outweigh its support. In my essay, I shall, subsequently,discuss the benefits and challenges of having a car with relevant examples and why I do not agree that owning a car is disadvantageous. Speaking of advantages, firstly, cars have over the years, evolved as an epitome of comfortable transport. For,example, the convenience of a car,is unparalleled by any mode of public carriage. Secondly, it is fast and eventually, can help to reach the destination faster. For, instance, modern high-speed Japanese wagons have cut down transportation time in India. Thirdly, being a private medium,owning a car liberates one from following a public transit schedule and fixed timings. To cite an instance, cars are of immense help late at night or wee hours in the morning while the public vehicle is unavailable. Fourthly, cars are also concurrently, seen as an asset and owning a carriage, gives a sense of prestige to the family. To cite an example, studies reveal that most car owners are proud of their cars. Thus we see the quality of the ride, faster communication, flexibility and prestige are key merits. To consider disadvantages, first and foremost, is the high cost of ownership. To illustrate, owning a car can set one back by a minimum of five thousand dollars in India. Moreover, the carrying capacity of cars is limited to four to five passengers whereas public transport can carry a lot more. For,instance a bus can carry fifty people, in contrast, to a car which can hold five. Furthermore, more cars mean higher pollution on the road and subsequently, traffic jams. Therefore, we can see the cost of ownership, limited carrying capacity and pollution are the principal disadvantages. To summarise, though some quarters claim that disadvantages superseded advantages of a car it is not true. There are genuine advantages of speed, comfort, and flexible mode which cannot be offset by concerns of ownership cost, limitations and pollution.