Countries should produce the food that their population eat, and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that producing meals for national consumption is better than importing food products from other countries. Overall, I totally agree about this statement because focusing on local food production will bring benefits which are elaborated on below. First thing first, if the government focus on the local commodity for national consumption, it will support local farmers and industries. Furthermore, it also fosters the economic development of the country. For instance, the Indonesian government have a policy to support local sugar production through limit sugarcane import which brings profits for the local sugar industry,especially the sugarcane farmers. Secondly, importing product also brings health risks to society. Some bacteria from the home country could be attached to imported vegetables and fruits, then, the bacteria will spread and cause health problems for the destination country. As an illustration, raw vegetables bring E coli bacteria which is dangerous for human health. Lastly, consuming local products will reduce the cost of transporting goods which is expensive. Some raw products also require high maintenance of imported products to keep good quality, and it will make the high prices of the food product as the consequence. However, not all people can afford the high prices of food on a daily basis. Taking an example, imported meat requires a big freezer in the transporting process which is cost a lot of money. Unsurprisingly, imported meat is more expensive than local meat. To conclude, I do agree that producing local food is the better way to fulfil the population’s consumption than importing food products. The reasons are about supporting local industry, preventing health risks and reducing the transporting cost.