In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions.

Sports has always been a place where everyone admires the best. In order to do that a rise in the number of professional players in numerous sports is being noticed which use banned substances to enhance their performance. The following essay will shed some light on the reasons behind this trend supplemented with some reasonable solutions to tackle the issue. These days tough competition is always present in any kind of sports and everyone wants to be on the peak to be the most likeable competitor. Usually, the ingredients to be the best is constant practice and sheer focus during training which takes time followed by hope. For example, bodybuilding is considered a slow and steady process because it requires the usage of proper nutrients on time to build the muscles. Therefore, to speed up the recovery steroids are preferred by coaches and trainers. Moreover, in some other sports, the competition is so tough that athletes get to have only a short period of time to prove themselves. Consequently, they tend to fall for pills that boost stamina and kick away fatigue. Despite these lucrative reasons to have these sorts of drugs it is however not happily recommended by health officials. For instance, bodybuilders seem to shrink in their size as soon as they stop taking those harmful steroids followed by some long-lasting side effects. To tackle this issue, herbal medicines are being introduced into the market which do not cause any internal organ damage. Moreover, not only strict policies and standards should be introduced in all forms of sports but camps targeting deepening the biological understanding of players towards the usage of drugs. To conclude, in order to put a hindrance in this trend, teenagers who later become professional athletes should be given prior knowledge of the biological effects even though it comes with a great prize.