In many workplaces online communication has overtaken face to face meetings. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?*

It is believed by many that virtual meetings are much more beneficial than traditional means of communication. Whilst some salient drawbacks can be seen from this trend, I personally believe that its advantages outnumber its disadvantages for economic reasons. On the one hand, one evident disadvantage of online conferences is that they are vulnerable to technical issues. If a substantial proportion of work meetings are held via online communication websites, employees may suffer from poor internet or signal connections which would definitely interrupt some pivotal discussions. Moreover, this will be putting some financial constraints on corporations' shoulders due to the fact that this entails extravagant equipment such as laptops, microphones and headphones. On the other hand, despite the disadvantages mentioned above, I firmly believe that the merits of this tendency surpass the demerits for its flexibility and time-saving properties. When employees are empowered with modern facilities of communication such as Google meet, Zoom and Botim, they would have the ultimate freedom to hold and organize their paramount meetings at any time convenient to them and *within a matter of hours*. Furthermore, this would curtail the amount of time wasted in making long journeys for the sake of attending business meetings. This characteristic is highly appreciated by multinational corporations such as Nokia and Samsung which have international clients from all over the globe. In conclusion, although modern amenities may expose workers to some technical errors, I am still convinced that their merits surpass demerits as they provide accessibility, flexibility and freedom.