In many places, prisons are overcrowded and expensive for governments to maintain. Yet, when offenders are released, they end up back in prison a short while later. Does prison work? Should lawbreakers be rehabilitated or punished?

In many places, prisons are overcrowded and expensive for governments to maintain. Yet, when offenders are released, they end up back in the penitentiary a short while later. Does prison work? Should lawbreakers be rehabilitated or punished? It is heard, times and times again that someone who was recently released from jail had committed another crime, and will be incarcerated again. The governments struggled with the expenses and penitentiaries became overcrowded. Something in the system is not working properly, and lawbreakers should be rehabilitated instead of punished. Firstly, the main focus should be on rehabilitation through education and offering a compelling future. Without proper education, it will be hard for them to build a meaningful life outside confinement and stop committing crimes. This is so vital due to the fact that, for example, most of the prisoners are young, between 20 and 30 years old, come from a poor background and are uneducated. So, the crime rates will be drastically reduced if this approach will be applied. Secondly, rehabilitation helps prisons increase security and enhance the life quality of those incarcerated, by freeing up space. It is certain, that nowadays, jails are overpopulated and life inside the institution is miserable, affecting the psychology and the self-esteem of the people inside and creating further problems. For example, a person that committed a small theft is in the same carcel as someone who killed his wife. This will have a negative effect on them and their ability to become good citizens when they return to the normal world. In conclusion, since the actual system is proven not to be working properly, rehabilitation would be a solution for diminishing the rate of returning prisoners and the proper function of the actual prisons by freeing up much-needed space. Additionally, this would definitely help save the institutional system some money, in the future.