Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed,rather than work for a company or organisations. Why might this be the case? What could be disadvantages of being self-employed?

The advent of technology provided multitude of options for people. In the past, the options for employment were limited in the private sector under organisations or in the public sector governed by the governments. However, in the contemporary era, self-employment is gaining its pace and lesser number of people prefer to work for organisations or companies. In this essay, we delve the possible causative factors for this and divulge disadvantages associated with this colossal trend. Primarily, being self-employed gives them authority over mode and time of their work, particularly in young people. This authority increases the empowerment and sense of ownership and thereby results in better performance in the work. Empowerment and ownership is the pre-requisites for accountability, thus making resilient to the constructive feedbacks and failures. To exemplify, Mark Zukerberg had once stated that his resilience to face failures are rooted from the sense of ownership. Further, organisations have a build in organisational culture to which the employee has to liaise. Besides, most organisations are micro-managed and which makes it arduous task to work for them and reach the expected performace indicators. This will consequently result in poor job satisfaction, staff burnout and increased turnover. For instance, as per the recent research, poor leadership and organisational culture are stated as the prime reasons for increased staff burnout and turnover among nurses in Australia during the covid period. In addition, being self-employed gives one authority over the amount of work or program that is being implemented at once, thus ensuring the quality of the work. More often, rather than the quantity, your performance is measured through the quality of your work. For example, in 2022 health promotion officers in India were inundated with program plans for abating the effects of COVID in the community along with increasing physical activity and reducing drug addictions. This resulted in none of the programs being implemented to its fullest. On the contrary, there are certain cons for being self-employed. One of the major among them is the financial stress that is being imposed. This will consequently result in the work being carried over to home, ultimately reducing the family time. Besides, the chances of small self-employed business withstanding natural or man-made sequelae is practically nil compared to organisations that has better financial and stakeholder backbone. For example, COVID-19 witnessed downfall of hundreds of small businesses resulting high financial burden to the individual as well as the community. To recapitulate, even though self-employment has its disadvantages like financial stress, the advantages are more alluring. Being self-employed gives one options for time of work and mode of work in additions to bestowing them with ownership. This bolsters the self-efficacy of the individuals as well.