There is an increasing trend round the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are some advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family?

In the globe, it is a rise of a phenomenon that family sizes have become smaller. The main benefits are that family members are closer to each other and living expenses are cheaper for a household. However, the prime drawbacks are fewer helpers and few social networks within a family. The primary merit of having few family members in a house is that parents and their children become intimate. Since only three or four people live together, they have more time to spend with each other and are familiar with their preferences. Furthermore, a single household’s expenditure has reduced because a smaller number of children are needed to nurture. As an illustration, the customer price index for a Taiwanese household has gradually decreased over decades due to the reduction of family members in purchasing necessities. The major negative effect of a small family is that parents lack assistants. This is because mothers and fathers do not have relatives or grandparents to look after their young toddlers when they are at work. Most of the time, babies are sent to daycare. Moreover, when all juveniles become adults, their prospective social networks also diminish due to fewer siblings at home. Given that a large family has more brothers and sisters, they are the potential to become professionals in society, so all family members own a robust social resource; however, a core family is challenging to have a similar network. To cite an example, our prior generations have more siblings, so most of our friends are easily referred to a job by their parents’ immediate family in China. In conclusion, the positive effects of having few crowds in a family rather than a large number of people are that a family can quickly bond with each other and save money on their living costs. On the contrary, the demerits are a shortage of people to give a hand and to have a weak social connection among the family.