In developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In industrialized countries, people are living longer than before. This essay will look at some consequences of this and offer possible solutions. There are a number of problems related to this trend. To begin with, increased longevity might be a threat to a country’s economy. To be more specific, a number of economically advanced nations are wrestling to find young employees who can continue the work of older generations. If they fail to find alternative manpower, there will be a crisis in workers, which results in the doom of the economy. Another issue that should be mentioned is the decline in population growth as young people have to take care of their elderly relatives. Consequently, it could deter them from having their own families. However, there are several actions that could be taken to solve the problems mentioned above. Firstly, governments can recruit immigrants to work for their nations. A good example of this is Canada, the department of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada nominates foreign workers through express entry programs every year to deal with the shortage of staff in this country. Secondly, administrators should issue new policies encouraging young generations to give birth. Germany is the pioneer in this strategy since they provide allowances for pregnant mothers. In addition, women who have babies can stay at home for a few years, but still receive full remuneration. This way, the country can boost the birthrate to prevent the higher rate of societal ageing. In conclusion, various measures can be implemented to tackle the problems that are certain to arise because of ageing societies.