In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In industrialised nations, people tend to live longer than ever. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, societies can take steps to mitigate these potential problems. Several related problems can be anticipated that one of them is labour shortage. Due to the increase in life expectency, the number of elderly people in those countries grown enormously that leads to the lack of people in working age. Hence, it adversely affect the bussiness operations as well as the process of manufacturing goods for societies. By way of illustration, many companies in Japan, as a high-level developed country, were reported that they did not have enough staffs for completing tasks and expanding business scales. Another issue is that the needs of retired people gradually increase. This definitely put such an extreme pressure on the governments because they have to pay more money from the national budget for pension or improving the public facilities serving those people, but beside that not disturbing the economic growth of the nations. As a result, it leaves younger people more stress because they handle to work harder. In order to address the aforementioned problems, several actions can be taken. Firstly, the governments should encourage reproduction by various policies that benefits people who give birth and their children. Increasing the number of youngers can be an effective way to reduce the impact of ageing populations because they would be an active workforce in the future and replace those that reach the retirement age. Secondly, old people should be accepted to work more by increasing the retirement age. Authorities have reasons to consider this idea because elderly in this day and age tend to be healthier and stronger that allow them to do some part-time jobs, or be in management positions. In conclusion, ageing population can lead to 2 problems which are the lack of workforce and financial pressure on societies, and these issues can be dealt with by a joint effort of both increasing reproductive rate and retirement age.