There is too much noise in many public places in cities. What are the causes of this problem? What can be done to solve the problem?

Noise pollution is a common topic that has come into discussion in recent days with the boom of many public locations in the cities. There are many sources identified as noise generators and in this essay, I will discuss the most common mechanisms of noise generation in urbanized areas and methods to reduce this phenomenon. Firstly, cities are constantly under construction to develop new infrastructure where heavy machinery and equipment are used in building and renovating. The clanking sounds of the metals are amplified by the surrounding noises which would form deafening sounds. If we use sound-dampening devices around these construction sites, they will absorb the sound energy and significantly reduce the impact. For example, sound-dampening sheets are kept alongside the highways which absorb and reduce the potential energy of various sounds generated by the vehicles passing by, so that the residents around the highways are not disturbed by the loud noises. Secondly, with the heavy population residing in the cities, there is a large number of people using their own automobiles to commute thus, causing heavy traffic jams. The drivers show their annoyance by blowing their horns which results in ear-blasting noises. If the government make advancements and strengthen the public transport system, the roads will be less crowded which would result in less noise pollution. Furthermore, implementing laws against those who make noises greater than a certain decibel unit would encourage people to think before they use their horns. In conclusion, urban areas are becoming noisier due to their never-ending development and heavy congestion on the roads. However, these can be prevented by using special gadgets to weaken the noise, strengthening the public transport systems and imposing rules against noise pollution.